The City of Lynden operates under a strong Mayor form of government with 7 City Council members serving 4-year terms.  Council positions are staggered so that not all council members come up for election in the same year. The Council members’ term of office are shown on the Council Members page.

The City of Lynden, is a Non-Charter Code City as specified by the State of Washington Revised Code of Washington (RCW) Title 35A RCW. For more information about the structure of the Mayor-Council Plan of Government, as implemented by the City of Lynden, see RCW 35A.12

The Mayor is the Chief Executive Officer of the city, and also chairs the council meetings. The Mayor is not a council member, but can vote in some special circumstances. RCW 35A.12.100 specifies those duties and voting capabilities.

The City Council are regularly scheduled for 7:00 p.m. on the 1st & 3rd Monday of each month (excluding holidays).  Should the council meeting date fall on a holiday the meeting is instead held on the 1st or 3rd Tuesday.

Department Links

City Council Chambers