City of Lynden Planning Commission

The Planning Commission is responsible for the review and oversight of many land use actions that occur in Lynden. They:

  • Assist in the preparation and review of the City’s Comprehensive Plan
  • Review and recommend changes to the City’s Development Regulations:  Lynden Municipal Code: Title 16, 17, 18 & 19
  • Analyze proposed changes to the City’s Urban Growth Area
  • Review applications for annexations, long plats and Planned Residential Developments
  • Oversight of the City’s Shoreline Management Program – including the approval of permits and variances
  • Participate in planning related research efforts (affordable housing, development density, etc)

The Commission is a seven member mayoral appointed board.  Commission members serve four year terms.

Commission Members:

Diane Veltkamp – Chair

Tim Faber – Vice-chair

Blair Scott

Gerald Veltkamp

Lynn Templeton

Nikki Turner

Bryan Korthuis

Planning Commission meetings take place the 2nd Thursday of every month.

Special meetings are the 4th Thursday but do not occur every month.

Meeting Minutes and Agendas